We consider a contact to be a user for whom we know at least one identifier:
• Custom Id
• Email
• Phone
• Web Push-Token
• Mobile Push-Token
Since it is with the presence of one of these channels that we can send messages to a person.
You can view summary information on the database size, as well as statistics on contact additions and deletions in “Database Size Statistics”. To do this, on the main page, click the “Contacts” tab. The familiar page with all saved logic will open.
You can also click on the number of contacts after the greeting — the link looks like “Total in the database … contacts” and leads to the full statistics page.
Previously, statistics were located directly on the main page. Now they are available via the “Contacts” tab or via the link after the greeting.
In the table, statistics are grouped by month. Inside each month, days and the methods of addition or deletion used on those days are displayed. If your tariff depends on the contact volume, the account cost is calculated based on the maximum number of contacts for a calendar month. In the database volume table, the row with the largest excess will be highlighted — it determines the payment.
What counts as an addition:
What does not count:
How data is grouped in the table:
All operations of the same type and source on the same day are combined into one row with a total value. For example, if you performed two imports in one day — for 10 and 20 contacts, the table will display one row: “Import of 30 contacts”. Additions from one pop‑up or one IP address are grouped according to the same principle.
Let's consider the billing logic with an example:
We start with an empty account. Beginning on 1.01, we work according to the table below.
| Data | Action | Maximum base | Current base |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.01 | Import of 1000 contacts | 1000 | 1000 |
| 3.01 | Import of 2000 contacts, of which 500 are existing contacts | 2500 | 2500 |
| 4.01 | Deletion of 800 contacts | 2500 | 1700 |
| 10.01 | Added 4000 contacts from pop-up window | 5700 | 5700 |
| 25.01 | Restore 800 contacts deleted 4.01 | 6500 | 6500 |
| 31.01 | Deleting contacts in the amount of 6400 | 6500 | 100 |
For January, 6500 contacts will be charged even though there are only 100 contacts in the account as of 31.01.
The maximum base on 01 February is equal to the current base - 100 contacts, the process is repeated.
You can add a contact to the enKod platform in any of the following ways:
To add a contact to the platform by import or via API, it is necessary to specify at least one of the identifiers - email or phone number. In this case, the format of the email address record should correspond to the structure, and the format of the phone number record should correspond to the structure. this structure, and the format of the phone number record - to the standard.
If you do not want to exceed your current limit, but are worried that you may accidentally upload too large a file or not control the addition via API, then in the settings activate the restriction on importing contacts.
The list of contacts is available in the enKod menu tab.
Contact removal is a tool to optimize the size of your contact database, allowing you to stay within your monthly rate limit and avoid charges for exceeding it.
A contact is not irrevocably removed. At any time you can restore it from Data → Contacts → Removed or re- add it to the platform. Removed contacts will be recovered:
. A contact can be removed in any of the ways listed below:
It is unacceptable to delete and import contacts at the same time. This may result in incorrect display of the total volume of the database, which will affect billing. The system will not allow you to run both processes in parallel.
Contact merging is one of the most important features of any CDP, enabling automatic deduplication. By using merging mechanisms, a single, accurate and complete profile of each customer is created, and messages sent will not be duplicated for the recipient. In enKod, it is acceptable to have a unique email address, phone number and CustomID for only one contact at a time. In case of disputes, strict contact merging rules described below apply to prevent duplication:
On the Contacts page you can find users through a quick search by email or phone number.
The list of contacts is sorted by default by update date.
The “Channels” column displays for each contact the fact that it has one or another identifier and the fact that it subscribes to a mailing group for this channel. There are three options for displaying the channel:
You can export contacts from a list or from a segment. When exporting, you can select the contact fields that are required in the export.
If you click on a contact in the contact list, the contact card (profile) will open. Here you can see all the data known about the user: name, phone number, registration date, traffic source, interaction channels, activity and others.
We would like to draw your attention to the “Communication Channels” section, in which all available communication channels with a particular contact are highlighted in blue, and the unavailable ones - in gray. In order for a channel to be defined as available, two conditions must be met at the same time:
The Email channel can have additional display versions:
If necessary, you can edit the values of data fields, email, phone number, first name and last name. You will be notified about all actions by events in the contact card, where it is indicated how and who made the changes.
In addition, if user activity tracking is enabled, the contact card will display the events that the user has performed on the site: page views, interaction with products (additionally, lists of products currently in the contact's cart, favorites and comparison are available), orders, and more. Read more about tracking in this section of the knowledge base.
For cart, favorites and comparison you can view:
If you have [en:user_guide:tracking:multiple_carts_and_favorites| multiple baskets/favourites]] functionality configured - they all will be displayed in the card.
In the contact card you can also view all mailing groups attached to the contact, unattach unwanted ones or add new ones.
When you manually attach a mailing group with a DOI to a contact, a confirmation email will be sent to that contact.
A contact can have his time zone defined. Currently, the time zone is detected and recorded in the contact card automatically by tracking:
Tracking can automatically detect and record time zones in formats accepted in the IANA time zone database, which is supported by all modern operating systems (Windows 10, 11, Linux, MacOS, IOS, Android).
Browser versions from which this functionality is supported:
Computers:
Mobile Devices:
If a contact uses a non-IANA-enabled format to specify a time zone, the time zone for that contact cannot be defined and entered into the contact card.
The contact's time zone can be taken into account when sending scheduled messages.